Category — Food & Drink
The process of making any wine begins with the grapes. For kosher wine, the grapes may be grown and picked by any individual regardless of whether they keep kosher or not, but once the grapes reach the plant to be crushed and bottled, the wine-making process must be handled by Sabbath-observant Jews. This process is under strict rabbinical supervision, making sure every detail in the wine-making process complies with kosher law. Even after the wine is bottled, it must only be uncorked and poured by someone who is Jewish in order to remain kosher.
A mevushal wine is one that goes through the extra step of pasteurization. (Mevushal means “to boil” in Hebrew.) After the wine goes through the pasteurization process, it may be handled by anyone and not lose its kosher status. For instance, if a non-Jewish waiter were to open a bottle and pour your guests wine, the wine would still be deemed kosher.
The good news is that most kosher wines made in the US are mevushal, so you should have no trouble finding mevushal wine for your wedding!
Illustration by Sari Victoria
August 7, 2009 3 Comments